Concealed Carry and Home Defense
Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals
This is a comprehensive course for anyone considering owning or carrying a firearm for self-defense. The course is a complete guide to understanding conflict avoidance and situational awareness; home security and home defense; handgun, shotgun and AR-15 basics; shooting fundamentals; the physiology of violent encounters; the legal aspects of using deadly force (including knowing what to do in the aftermath); and a complete guide on gear, gadgets, and ongoing training.
This course meets the requirements for the Texas License to Carry (LTC) permit, the Florida Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP) as well as many other states. If you want a particular state permit, you can check with us to determine if the course qualifies for your state permit. The course is approximately 6 hours of class time plus one hour of range time to complete this class.
Individuals can sign up for the class at this link.
Because I think it is wise for married couples to both be aware of firearm safety, defense options for the home, and to be licensed to carry a concealed handgun, I offer a discount to legally married couples. Click here to register as a married couple. (Additional family members ages 20 and over can attend for an additional $50 which you can pay in class.)
REFUND POLICY: Occasionally someone registers for a class and then has to cancel due to scheduling issues or other conflicts. We understand this situation and will make prompt refunds. However, because your class fee includes your range fee and a $35 book which includes your class materials, we cannot afford to absorb the credit card processing fees that come from issuing refunds. So $10 of your fee is non-refundable. Also, if you cannot make a class, you can reschedule for a subsequent class at no charge.
I look forward to seeing you and your family members in class!
What's in the course?
Since this course is taught in a church by a pastor, it begins with a brief discussion of:
- What does the Bible say about self-defense?
- Why you need to decide now what you will do
It covers the specifics of Texas License to Carry and general firearm laws. Then, it covers the following topics of concealed carry and self-defense:
When and where is the class?
- The classroom portion of the class is at First Baptist Church Las Colinas in the fellowship hall (the metal building behind the auditorium). Use the entrance closest to the metal building. The front 2 entrances of the church will be locked for safety reasons. The church address is 1930 Gateway Drive, Irving TX 75038-2405.
- The class starts promptly at 8:00 a.m. For that reason, please try to arrive by 7:45 a.m. so that you can check in, sign forms, and have any firearms inspected before you come into the class. (NO LIVE AMMUNITION is allowed in the classroom.)
- The range where you will take your LTC shooting exam is the Winchester Gallery range at 6054 E Lancaster Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76112. Park in the range parking lot (if space is available -- if not, park in front parking lot). I will pay your range fees and get your targets and then meet you in the building on the West side of the rear parking lot. When you go into the range, you will find a stall and put your EMPTY firearm on the stall desk pointed downrange. I will inspect all firearms before the exam begins.
What do I need to bring to class?
- A good attitude with a teachable spirit
- A mind free from distractions -- we will be learning life and death matters and will be handling firearms. So leave your distractions at home.
- A seat cushion. There is a lot of sitting. And the mind can only comprehend what the seat can endure. So come early to get a good chair and you might want to bring a seat cushion or pillow if it helps you be more comfortable. We will take breaks about every 75-90 minutes, but you are free to walk around while I'm teaching as long as you do it in a way to not disturb others.
- A silenced cell phone. We are here to learn life-saving information. Please don't make anyone miss critical information because your cell phone rings during class. I recommend you just turn off your cell phone. If your work or family situation does not allow that, then please put your cell phone on vibrate only and put it in your pocket so that it does not disturb others. While there is Internet access at the church, I ask that you only check email or surf the web during breaks. Do not do so during class.
- A sack lunch -- we do provide snacks but to keep course cost low, we no longer furnish lunch (we are giving you a $30 printed student book instead)
- If you need special soft drinks, etc., bring those, too. We will have water and tea in the class
- A pen / pencil and some note paper. You will have a student manual but may hear me say things that are not written in your book. The dullest pencil is better than the sharpest mind when it comes to remembering things. So be prepared to take notes.
- A handgun. If you own a handgun, bring it into class, but leave all ammunition locked in your vehicle. We must check your handgun before it comes into the class to make sure it is empty and we will put a plastic rod in each firearm to ensure that it is empty. Please notify the instructor immediately if you are entering the room with a handgun. You do not actually need your handgun until we go to the range, so you can leave it in your car. But if you have questions about your handgun, please bring it with you so we can answer questions in the classroom before we get to the range. All firearms will go on a table at the front of classroom while I am teaching so that you do not violate the first rule of gun safety (always keep the firearm pointed in a safe direction). Also, it will be handy for you to have your own firearm when we practice proper grip and aim. THERE IS NO AMMUNITION ALLOWED IN THE CLASSROOM AT ANY TIME!
- If you do NOT have a handgun, do not worry. We have extra handguns (both semiautomatic pistol and revolver) that you can use at the range.
What do I need to bring to the range?
- Do NOT bring your cell phone into the range. Leave it in your vehicle. There can be no distractions on a gun range with live fire. The test takes only about 15-20 minutes, so you can live without your cell phone that long.
- Modest and protective clothing. This protects you from hot brass that might fly toward you on a gun range with multiple people shooting. So I recommend blouses, T-shirts, or collared shirts that do not expose cleavage or allow brass to go flying down inside your shirt. For the same reason, close-toed shoes and long pants or skirts are advisable. A ball cap with a brim can help to protect your face.
- Hearing and eye protection. The gun range does furnish some hearing protection and safety glasses. However, if you have electronic hearing protection that allows you to hear speech but muffles gunshots, that is preferred (I have a few extra pair of these with me). Also you should wear your reguarl glasses, shooting glasses, or inexpensive eye protection to prevent ejected shells from hitting your eye.
- 50 rounds of ammunition that fits your firearm. The Texas LTC/Open Carry range qualification consists of firing a total of 50 rounds using a specific course of fire. The pistol must be a minimum of . 32 caliber. You may qualify with a revolver or semi-auto pistol.
- If you are using one of our semiautomatic pistols, please bring 50 rounds of 9mm Luger ammunition. If you are shooting one of our revolvers, please bring 50 rounds of .38 caliber ammunition.
- We recommend the following brands of ammunition for the range test because they are generally reliable and clean-burning. Please do not use "reload" ammunition. All ammuntion should be new in-the-box ammunition. For the range test, you can use full metal jacket (FMJ) ammunition. (When you carry, you will want jacketed-hollow point or JHP ammunition, which is a bit more expensive.)